Pokémon TCG: Vivid Voltage Card Mechanics FAQ

With the Vivid Voltage Prerelease starting today,  Play! Pokémon has provided some FAQs on certain cards play mechanics. There are no official prereleases, but these will be helpful for when the cards are legal in TCGO on November 13th. You can see a full list of cards in our previous article

Pokémon Abilites

Buzzap Generator (Electrode)

Q. When using Electrode’s “Buzzap Generator” Ability, can I attach the 2 {L} Energy cards to Electrode before it is KO’d?

A. Yes, you can.


Eerie Beam (Orbeetle VMAX)

Q. Can you use more than one Orbeetle VMAX’s “Eerie Beam” Ability per turn?

A. If a different Orbeetle VMAX becomes active you can use its Eerie Beam Ability, but each Orbeetle VMAX can only use its Eerie Beam Ability once per turn.


Shell Survival (Shedinja)

* There’s a new deck building rule with Shedinja from Vivid Voltage. Shedinja with the “Shell Survival” Ability cannot be the only Basic Pokemon in your deck. You must have at least 1 other Basic Pokemon in your deck besides Shedinja with “Shell Survival”.


Shifty Substitution (Shiftry)

Q. If I play Nessa on my turn while my opponent has “Shifty Substitution” in effect, do I still get to Paralyze the opponent’s Active Pokemon if I use Drednaw’s “Vise Wave” attack?

A. Yes, because even though Shifty Substitution replaces Nessa’s usual effect the Supporter card still has the same name, so Vise Wave will still paralyze your opponent.


Spectral Breach (Dusknoir)

Q. If Dusknoir’s “Spectral Breach” Ability is active, does Double Colorless Energy provide one energy or two?

A. It would only provide one {C} Energy.


Resolute Spear (Galarian Sirfetch’d V)

Q. Can you move Stone Energy or Rainbow Energy with Galarian Sirfetch’d V’s “Resolute Spear” Ability?

A. Yes, while attached those energies provide {F} energy.


Pokémon Attacks

Amazing Bloom (Celebi)

Q. When using Celebi’s “Amazing Bloom” attack, can I search for a Stage 2 Pokemon and put it onto a Basic Pokemon if they’re in the same evolution line, for example from Charmander to Charizard?

A. No, Amazing Bloom does not let you skip stages.


Head Crack (Exeggutor)

Q. If my opponent uses Exeggutor’s “Head Crack” attack, then my Active Pokemon retreats for another Pokemon that has the same attack name that was blocked, can my new Pokemon use that attack or is it blocked?

A. Head Crack places the effect on your Pokemon that was Active when attacked, so when that Pokemon is benched the effect of Head Crack ends.


Vise Wave (Drednaw)

Q. If I play Nessa on my turn while my opponent has “Shifty Substitution” in effect, do I still get to Paralyze the opponent’s Active Pokemon if I use Drednaw’s “Vise Wave” attack?

A. Yes, because even though Shifty Substitution replaces Nessa’s usual effect the Supporter card still has the same name, so Vise Wave will still paralyze your opponent.


Trainer Cards

Moomoo Cheese

Q. Does Moomoo Cheese allow you to heal 30 damage each from up to 2 of your Pokemon, or does it heal a total of 30 damage between the two (like 20 on one and 10 on another)?

A. Each Pokemon you choose for Moomoo Cheese gets to heal 30 damage.

Q. When using Moomoo Cheese, can I choose to heal less than 30 damage from my Pokemon?

A. If the Pokemon has 30 or more damage on it you must heal 30 damage, but if it has less than 30 damage you do as much as you can and heal all of it.

Pokemon Games